Department of Mathematics

  • Home / Departments / Mathematics

Department of Mathematics


The Mathematics department was established at the inception of the college in 1970, with two faculty members. The B.Sc. degree in Mathematics was established in the year 1975. Mathematics is an allied paper for B.Sc. Chemistry and B.Sc. Physics, under the aided stream. Also, Mathematics is an compulsory allied papers for B.Sc., Computer Science, M.Sc., Computer Science and MCA in the unaided stream.

The Department was elevated into a postgraduate department in 2003, under the self-financing stream.

Remedial classes: Those SC, ST and other students who are weak in certain papers and unable to cope with the pace at which the teachers proceed in the class are identified and given remedial classes. Those students who are in the remedial classes are monitored separately and their performance is gauged in the remedial class sessions.

List of Programmes in the Department of Mathematics

  • B.Sc., Mathematics
  • M.Sc., Mathematics
  • M.Phil.
  • Ph.D.,