Department of Physics

  • Home / Departments / Physics

Department of Physics


The Department of Physics was established in the year 1979 with the affiliation of the B.Sc Degree. The department became a post graduate department offering “Applied Physics” in 1986 and was elevated into a research department in 1990. The research department in Physics is the apex centre for ‘Thin Film Research Activities’. Though there was a demand for M.Sc Applied Physics, the demand for M.Sc Physics was greater hence the members of the faculty and the management converted the M.Sc. Applied Physics into M.Sc Physics to satisfy the demand by the students to fulfill the mission of the college, from the academic year 2005.

The department has a well-equipped laboratory for the U.G students and P.G. Students separately.

All the faculty members are qualified with Post Graduate Diploma in Computer Science. The university approves them as research guides of the M.Phil programme and the doctorates are research guides for the Ph.D programme. There are twenty research scholars pursing their M.Phil and fifteen research scholars pursuing their Ph.D. There is a research committee in the department, which plans the direction of the research projects to be undertaken.

List of Programmes in the Department of Physics

  • B.Sc., Physics
  • M.Sc., Physics
  • M.Phil., Physics
  • Ph.D. Programme